Tagging Up On Bobbled Ball

By admin •  Updated: 09/27/13 •  2 min read

Does a Player Need to Tag Up On Bobbled Ball?

by LR0909 (New York)

There is a man on third and less than two outs. The batter hits a fly ball and a fielder attempts to catch the ball but it bounces off his glove and another fielder catches it. Does the runner on base have to tag up?

The Coach’s Answer

Thanks for the good question!

Official baseball rules state that “runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the baseball.” To answer your question, the runner on 3rd base must tag up, but he can leave third base as soon as the first fielder touches the baseball.

I have actually seen this play happen and the umpire ruled incorrectly on the play. Common sense should tell us all that it would be unfair to the baserunner to make him wait for the fielder to secure the ball. Otherwise, a good outfielder would simply bobble the ball a couple times to throw the timing off of the runner to minimize the chance at advancing or scoring.

Great question!

Baseball Situations Quiz

Do you know the essentials of baseball situations with runners on and the ball put in play? Take our baseball situations quiz and test your knowledge!

More Baseball Quizzes

More quizzes here: Baseball Quizzes

Get Coach Dan’s Book With Over 200 Tips

[easyazon_cta align=”none” identifier=”B072F1FRX9″ key=”wide-orange” locale=”US” nw=”y” tag=”myyouthbaseball-20″]

Special Offer

Special discount for MYB readers: Get over 200 baseball drills, 100 videos and dozens of practice plans with a Baseball Zone Membership. Use discount code “HOMERUN” for 25% off today. Sign up now.

Get Our Free Baseball Drills & Skills eBook!

Learn More

Essential Equipment for Your Baseball Player

Hitting Mechanics Videos

Teaching Basic Pitching Mechanics

Essential Baseball Hitting Drills

Infield Basics and Fundamentals

All 200+ of Our Articles