IS THIS A FORCE OUT AT HOME PLATE?
We needed a double play like nobody’s business. Ball was hit down first base line, 1B fielded and tagged 1st, then threw it home. Catcher caught it with foot on the base, but did not tag the runner. Umpire said force was removed when the out was made at 1B, but I have also been told that it should have still been a force unless the runner tagged up similar to a pop fly?
Can you clarify?
BTW… We got the next out, so it ended up in a tie.
COACH HENZE’S ANSWER
Thanks for the question!
Umpire was correct. Once the out was taken at first, all force outs are done. Catcher was required to tag the runner at the plate.
I am sure it was a tough lesson for your young kids, but I am sure they won’t forget in the future. So, good lesson learned.
Thanks again and comment below for further clarification!
Baseball Situations Quiz
Do you know the essentials of baseball situations with runners on and the ball put in play? Take our baseball situations quiz and test your knowledge!
More Baseball Quizzes
More quizzes here: Baseball Quizzes
Get Coach Dan’s Book With Over 200 Tips
[easyazon_cta align=”none” identifier=”B072F1FRX9″ key=”wide-orange” locale=”US” nw=”y” tag=”myyouthbaseball-20″]
Special discount for MYB readers: Get over 200 baseball drills, 100 videos and dozens of practice plans with a Baseball Zone Membership. Use discount code “HOMERUN” for 25% off today. Sign up now.
Get Our Free Baseball Drills & Skills eBook!
Essential Equipment for Your Baseball Player
Hitting Mechanics Videos
Teaching Basic Pitching Mechanics
Essential Baseball Hitting Drills
Infield Basics and Fundamentals
All 200+ of Our Articles
Download this cheat sheet to optimize underperforming posts on your website.