by El Jordon
(New York City, NY USA)
THE COACH’S ANSWER
Thanks for this statistical question!
I have heard of coaches making up their own rules with this situation over the course of my playing and coaching career. For example, if a baserunner steals home, I have heard some coaches give the RBI to the batter if he gets a base hit. That is NOT correct.
The Correct Answer
The correct answer to this question is that nobody gets credited with a run batted in.
There is a misconception out there that every run that scores is an RBI… That is not true. This situation and others, like a run scoring on an error, are not considered RBI’s. At the end of the game/season, runs scored will definitely not equal RBI’s.
Thanks again for the good question.
Baseball Situations Quiz
Do you know the essentials of baseball situations with runners on and the ball put in play? Take our baseball situations quiz and test your knowledge!
More Baseball Quizzes
More quizzes here: Baseball Quizzes
Get Coach Dan’s Book With Over 200 Tips
[easyazon_cta align=”none” identifier=”B072F1FRX9″ key=”wide-orange” locale=”US” nw=”y” tag=”myyouthbaseball-20″]
Special discount for MYB readers: Get over 200 baseball drills, 100 videos and dozens of practice plans with a Baseball Zone Membership. Use discount code “HOMERUN” for 25% off today. Sign up now.
Get Our Free Baseball Drills & Skills eBook!
Essential Equipment for Your Baseball Player
Hitting Mechanics Videos
Teaching Basic Pitching Mechanics
Essential Baseball Hitting Drills
Infield Basics and Fundamentals
All 200+ of Our Articles
Download this cheat sheet to optimize underperforming posts on your website.