BATTER HITS THE BALL TOWARDS FIRST BASE. THE BALL HITS IN FAIR TERRITORY BEFORE THE BASE AND THEN PASSES OVER THE BASE AND LANDS IN FOUL TERRITORY. IS THIS A FAIR OR FOUL BALL?
THE COACH’S ANSWER
Thanks for the question Bill!
This is a fairly easy answer… This ball is a fair ball as long as it hit in fair territory AND was ruled to bounce over the base. If this was a line drive that didn’t hit the ground first, then it would be ruled foul. Also, if the umpire determined that the ball did not go over the base and, instead, was foul before reaching the base, it would be a foul ball also.
Craft The Perfect Post That Ranks and Converts!
Download this cheat sheet to optimize underperforming posts on your website.
By subscribing, you agree to get emails from me, Matt Giovanisci. I'll respect your privacy and you can unsubscribe any time.