Line drive back to the pitcher, which knocks the glove off his hand. The glove lands on the ground with the ball still in it.
I think the batter is not out, but will you please confirm. Thanks!
COACH HENZE’S ANSWER
Thanks for the question!
It is my understanding that the fielder must have the ball securely in his possession for it to be a “catch.” If the glove is not secure in the defensive player’s hand, then the player does not have the ball securely in his possession. It is not a catch.
NOTE: I looked up this rule and couldn’t find anything specific to this situation, so there is a small possibility that I am not correct…