FIELDER CATCHES THE BASEBALL BUT GLOVE DROPS TO GROUND

by Don Hickey
(Leesburg, Florida)

If a line shot is hit back to the pitcher and it knocks off his glove but stay’s in his glove and he picks up the glove without it hitting the ground what’s the call??? Is the runner out ???

COACH HENZE’S ANSWER

Thanks for the question Don!

baseball player t-shirts Check out our new t-shirts here: Baseball Zone T-Shirts

For any catch to be legal, the baseball fielder must have complete possession of the ball before it touches the ground. In this case, the fielder does not have complete possession and the ball hits the ground (even though it is in the glove).

So, if a fielder catches the baseball but the glove drops to the ground with the baseball still in it, it is NOT an out.

Thanks again for the question!

LIMITED TIME OFFER

Get over 200 baseball drills, 100 videos and dozens of practice plans with a Baseball Zone Membership. Use discount code "HOMERUN" for 25% off today. Sign up now.



Free Drills & Skills eBook

Learn how we teach our players in this free book!







close

GET BETTER AT BASEBALL!


GET OUR FREE EBOOK BASEBALL SKILLS & DRILLS

  • check-square-o
    Covers Hitting, Fielding and Throwing Fundamentals
  • check-square-o
    20+ Drills You Can Use Right Away
  • check-square-o
    Special Discounts on Training Aids & Other Equipment
envelope-open-o
envelope-open-o