IS IT A CATCH IF THE BALL KNOCKS THE GLOVE OFF HIS HAND?

by Nick
(Darien, CT)

Line drive back to the pitcher, which knocks the glove off his hand. The glove lands on the ground with the ball still in it.

I think the batter is not out, but will you please confirm. Thanks!

COACH HENZE’S ANSWER

Thanks for the question!

baseball player t-shirts Check out our new t-shirts here: Baseball Zone T-Shirts

It is my understanding that the fielder must have the ball securely in his possession for it to be a “catch.” If the glove is not secure in the defensive player’s hand, then the player does not have the ball securely in his possession. It is not a catch.

NOTE: I looked up this rule and couldn’t find anything specific to this situation, so there is a small possibility that I am not correct…

LIMITED TIME OFFER

Get over 200 baseball drills, 100 videos and dozens of practice plans with a Baseball Zone Membership. Use discount code "HOMERUN" for 25% off today. Sign up now.



Free Drills & Skills eBook

Learn how we teach our players in this free book!







close

GET BETTER AT BASEBALL!


GET OUR FREE EBOOK BASEBALL SKILLS & DRILLS

  • check-square-o
    Covers Hitting, Fielding and Throwing Fundamentals
  • check-square-o
    20+ Drills You Can Use Right Away
  • check-square-o
    Special Discounts on Training Aids & Other Equipment
envelope-open-o
envelope-open-o